Diary of a mad fundraiser III – Why I think this project is important enough to ask for support

Image

 

I have long thought that my job as an artist is to create paintings that offer refuge from the craziness of every day life. I have come to believe that the reason why life has become so crazy is because we have become so disconnected… from society, from the planet, from ourselves. We have become a society of droids using machines to navigate through our daily routines rather than using our senses. With my work I strive to recreate the sensations one feels when there is a connection. In my case, the connections would be between you and the painting, you and the inspiration and ultimately between you and me.

If you visit http://www.usaprojects.org/project/heartbeat you will gain a better understading of what I’m trying to accomplish with my project “Heartbeat”. As a self-supporting artist it is difficult to set aside time for experimental work and yet it is through experimentation that I continue to grow. If I am successful in raising the funds needed to get this work under way, I will have the luxury of time that I don’t currently have.

USA Projects calls their fundraising programs “microphilanthropy”. I love that concept! It takes the idea of philanthropy out of the realm of very wealthy and generous people giving large sums of money and places it the hands of ordinary people who want to contribute but think that small amounts won’t make a difference. The exact opposite is true!

I thank you for taking the time to read this. I look forward to presenting you with the fruits of my labor.

About monicalinvillefineart

I have been a working studio artist for over 30 years now. Self-taught, painting has been as much a part of my life as breathing. I learned by doing. Over 20 of those years have been spent on a little mountain in the Caribbean where my primary studio is located. I recently opened a second studio in Saratoga Springs, New York. I made the decision years ago that the best way to get people interested in coming to see my paintings was to simply be the best painter I could possibly be. Easel time. I put in a LOT of easel time. The gods have been good as I have been fortunate that in spite of my isolation from the art markets of the world, people still seek me out and find me. My work is now in collections around the world and students come to my mountain in search of instruction. My life has been good. I offer my world up to you as a refuge. I believe that is the purpose of my art.... it is a sanctuary for my soul while creating it and I would like it to be a sanctuary for yours while viewing it. I want to dance with you. I want to be part of your thoughts. I want to be part of your memory. Be delighted, please. Delight soothes the soul.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

