Got my first virtual student!

While I’ve mentored students one on one in the “real world” I just signed on to mentor a new painter via the virtual world of Second Life. As this is the direction I’ve been wanting to go for a while now, I’m very excited! We can use the visual tools that virtual reality offers in order to see the work being done, we can use Skype to converse while we do so. It’s going to be a fascinating new adventure for me! Long distance teaching!!! Gotta love technology!

Mixed Media painting on paper

About monicalinvillefineart

I have been a working studio artist for over 30 years now. Self-taught, painting has been as much a part of my life as breathing. I learned by doing. Over 20 of those years have been spent on a little mountain in the Caribbean where my primary studio is located. I recently opened a second studio in Saratoga Springs, New York. I made the decision years ago that the best way to get people interested in coming to see my paintings was to simply be the best painter I could possibly be. Easel time. I put in a LOT of easel time. The gods have been good as I have been fortunate that in spite of my isolation from the art markets of the world, people still seek me out and find me. My work is now in collections around the world and students come to my mountain in search of instruction. My life has been good. I offer my world up to you as a refuge. I believe that is the purpose of my art.... it is a sanctuary for my soul while creating it and I would like it to be a sanctuary for yours while viewing it. I want to dance with you. I want to be part of your thoughts. I want to be part of your memory. Be delighted, please. Delight soothes the soul.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Got my first virtual student!

  1. Robert Leedy says:

    Great painting! Monica, is this yours or theirs? Reminds me of the drip paintings we did when I took a workshop with you…

    • Thanks, Robert. Yeah, actually…. this painting was probably done right about then. Lordy…. how long ago would that have been??? It’s watercolor pencil and a great exercise in letting go of preconceived notions and just letting the painting take you where it wants to go.

Leave a Reply

