Crossing over both worlds for “Organica”

The countdown has started for my upcoming exhibition of oil paintings to be held at The House of Creative Soul in Saratoga Springs, NY. Titled “Organica” the work represents a new direction I’ve taken with the oil paints over the last year or so. You can see a preview of the paintings by visiting http://www.organica.monicalinville.com/index.php.

I am also opening this show simultaneously within the virtual world of Second Life. This is what I mean by the title of this posting “Crossing Over”. I have a virtual, 3D gallery in Second Life that will exhibit the same paintings I am showing in Saratoga. In attendance will be people (represented by their avatars) from around the world. I will be projecting this virtual event in to the New York gallery so that people can see it from that perspective and at the same time I will be streaming real time video of the actual opening reception in to Second Life so that the visitors there can see what’s happening “outside”.

During the event taking place in Second Life, there will be two activities in addition to viewing the art. During the first hour, Karima Hoisan, a poet who splits her time between Costa Rica and Jordan, and Emile Sands, a poet from western New York State, will perform together, presenting a reading of their work that will be choreographed to a selection of music. During the second hour Voodoo Shilton, a classical guitarist from New Jersey, will be performing his own compositions as well as his unique interpretations of others. These 3 people are amazingly talented and that they are giving of their time to do this for me overwhelms me with gratitude.

If you are interested in observing this virtual phenomenon, you will first need to go to http://www.secondlife.com and download the portal software. You will be guided through the registration process and the creation of your avatar, which is how you will navigate the world. Once done with that, do an inworld search for either Littleone Aries (that would be me) or Philippe Pascal and explain what you are interested in doing. We can guide you to the gallery.

Keep an eye on my blog because in the coming days I will tell you more about these wonderful artists who are helping to make BOTH my worlds beautiful places to be.

About monicalinvillefineart

I have been a working studio artist for over 30 years now. Self-taught, painting has been as much a part of my life as breathing. I learned by doing. Over 20 of those years have been spent on a little mountain in the Caribbean where my primary studio is located. I recently opened a second studio in Saratoga Springs, New York. I made the decision years ago that the best way to get people interested in coming to see my paintings was to simply be the best painter I could possibly be. Easel time. I put in a LOT of easel time. The gods have been good as I have been fortunate that in spite of my isolation from the art markets of the world, people still seek me out and find me. My work is now in collections around the world and students come to my mountain in search of instruction. My life has been good. I offer my world up to you as a refuge. I believe that is the purpose of my art.... it is a sanctuary for my soul while creating it and I would like it to be a sanctuary for yours while viewing it. I want to dance with you. I want to be part of your thoughts. I want to be part of your memory. Be delighted, please. Delight soothes the soul.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

